Join Our Community

How Does Past Life Regression Work?

Articles Inspirational articles from Hay House authors

How Does Past Life Regression Work?

The key is to slow down your brainwaves...
Atasha Fyfe
Atasha Fyfe More by this author
Jan 30, 2015 at 03:00 AM

Consciousness is like a multi-storey building. Everyday awareness is akin to one of the floors. When we’re on that level, we can see only what’s on that floor.

To find out what’s on the other floors, we have to change to another level of consciousness. Regression provides a stairway between the floors.

It always begins with relaxation techniques to slow down the brainwaves. To do this, the therapist will talk in a calm, slow voice. They will often use images of soothing scenery and physical relaxation. Repetition and counting down also work well.But all of this only works if the person is willing. If someone doesn’t want to be relaxed, then nothing can force them into it.

As our brainwaves slow down, our consciousness changes. This is how we move to the other levels.

In the grand structure of our psyche, there are four main levels of consciousness: beta, alpha, theta and delta. They each have their own light, medium and deep levels. We go in and out of all of them every day and night as we move between waking, working, relaxing and sleeping.

We know this because these different states have been researched and measured using electroencephalograms – EEGs for short. Our brainwaves produce an electrical impulse and, to trace it, sensors are placed on people’s heads, connecting them to EEG monitors. A wavy line on a graph then reflects their changing levels of consciousness. As they relax, so does the line on the graph, which becomes softer and smoother the deeper they go.

The four main stages of consciousness

Beta: This is everyday consciousness. We’re in a light beta state when we’re doing a routine task that requires our attention but isn’t too demanding. Medium beta would be when we’re studying, or trying to fix something.

A more intense focus – trying to hurry through heavy traffic for example – will take us to higher levels of beta. This level can also bring feelings of stress and anxiety. The beta line on an EEG graph is shallow and spiky, like a choppy sea.

Alpha: This is more relaxed. We slip into a light alpha state easily and naturally when we’re daydreaming, listening to music or staring out of the window. The EEG graph line has bigger and more rounded curves, which look like a peaceful rolling sea.

Meditation or regression will take us to deeper levels of alpha. When we get there, we’re at the gateway to the subconscious. At this level we can access material that’s normally hidden from the everyday mind.

Studies have shown that past-life information becomes available when brainwaves measure around 7 to 8 cycles per second – which is the medium-to-deep alpha state.

Theta: We pass through theta just before going to sleep and in the first moments of waking up. The deeper states of lucid dreaming, trance and visionary experiences become available at this level.

Delta: This is deep sleep. In delta, we can access higher consciousness directly, and may be out of the body altogether. When we return to lighter levels of consciousness, we have dreams translating those experiences. Dreams are vital to us. When deprived of dream sleep, people experience mental breakdown and eventually, death.

We move naturally between these four levels of consciousness all the time. Being able to do this is important for our psychological and physical health and wellbeing.

Editor's note: delve deeper into this topic - Discovering Your Past Lives Made Easy by Atasha Fyfe is out now. 

About Author
Atasha Fyfe
Atasha Fyfe studied history and English literature to degree level, before qualifying as a counsellor and hypnotherapist, and becoming a past life therapist. Based in Glastonbury, Atasha gives workshops on past life regression, regularly pub Continue reading